Gators stay undefeated

UF vs Ky

Thursday October 16, 2014

Florida Remains Perfect at Kentucky

Lexington, Ky.

The University of Florida men’s and women’s swimming & diving team (M: 2-0, 2-0 SEC; W, 3-0, 3-0 SEC) won the first 10 swimming events and a combined 22 of 32 events on the night, as the Gators defeated Southeastern Conference-rival Kentucky (M: 0-2, 0-2 SEC; W: 1-1, 1-1 SEC), 164-128 (men) and 161-137 (women), on Thursday night in the Lancaster Aquatic Center in Lexington, Ky. UF is now a combined 27-0 all-time against the Wildcats (M, 15-0, W, 12-0).

Sophomore Jack Blyzinskyj led the men’s team, as he captured first-place finishes in the 100-yard butterfly and the 100-yard backstroke in marks of 48.84 and 50.01 seconds, respectively.

The Gator women were led by junior Lindsey McKnight, as she won two individual events and was a member of the first-place 400-yard medley relay team.

Florida is now idle for the next two week, as it next competes at Georgia on Friday, Oct. 31 at 11 a.m. That will be the women’s teams’ fourth SEC dual meet, while that meet will be the third for the UF men’s squad.

On his team’s performance …

“I’m very proud of how well both teams handled a very challenging week of training, and then came out here and raced so well. I’m especially pleased with how many people responded to the adversity of some sickness. No excuses, just a real focus tonight and some tough racing.”

Head Coach Gregg Troy


Following tonight’s victories, UF is now a combined 27-0 all-time against the Wildcats. (M, 15-0, W, 12-0).


Florida notched two relay victories in the dual meet, as juniors Sinead Russell, Natalie Hinds, Ashlee Linn and McKnight won the 400-yard medley relay in 3:41.34. The Gator men then won the same event, as junior Pawel Werner, sophomore Jack Blyzinskyj and freshmen Caeleb Dressel and Erik Kahr clocked a time of 3:17.95.


UF swept all four distance events beginning with the 1,000-yard freestyle, as junior Jessica Thielmann won the women’s race in 9:52.38 and senior Carlos Omana placed first in the men’s race with a time of 9:11.59. Later in the evening, Taylor Roy (4:54.89) and Arthur Frayler (4:31.96) captured first-place finishes in the 500-yard freestyle events.


Florida captured first-place finishes in all four backstroke races, beginning with junior Sinead Russell and sophomore Jack Blyzinskyj in the 100-yard race with times of 53.23 and 50.01 seconds, respectively. In the 200-yard event, redshirt freshman Georgia Hohmann won in a time of 1:57.44, while sophomore Alex Dehner placed first in 1:49.54. This was Dehner’s first individual victory of the season.


Florida’s women won all three sprint events, as Hinds placed first in the 50-yard freestyle (22.88), Russell won the 100-yard race (50.78) and Thielmann captured the fastest time in the 200-yard event (1:49.15).

The Gator men swept the same three events beginning with Werner, as he won both the 50-yard and 100-yard races in times of 19.94 and 44.35 seconds, respectively. Sophomore Mitch D’Arrigo capped off the Gator sweep in the 200-yard freestyle with an NCAA ‘B’ standard time of 1:37.55.


The Florida women took both breaststroke titles, as McKnight and Kahr placed first each race. McKnight won the 100-yard and 200-yard races with times of 1:02.86 and 2:17.16, while Kahr took the 100-yard and 200-yard crowns in 56.74 and 2:06.93, respectively. The victories were Kahr’s first and second individual wins of his collegiate career.


Thielmann placed first in the 400-yard individual medley in a time of 4:21.29, giving her three first-place finishes in the meet.


In addition to an outstanding night of first-place finishes, UF recorded three NCAA ‘B’ standard marks throughout the dual meet. They were:

·Mitch D’Arrigo (200 Free, 1:37.55)

·Georgia Hohmann (200 Back, 1:57.44)

·Sinead Russell (100 Back, 53.23)


Questo articolo è stato postato in BLOG, Le mie gare and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *